backround

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

make way, epicness coming through!!

As most of you know, I have returned 3 weeks ago from a government sponsored program called Katimavik. I was away for 6 months and lived in BC, and in QC and had a fabulous time, some of the best in my life.
And now, all you will know that I'm leaving again!
In four and a half months!!
Flying away from Candada, a day after my birthday, (Aug 18th) I will be leaving for a year to live abroad in Driebergen, Holland, being an Aupair/Nanny for 4 kids!
I will have my own little cottage beside their house, get paid to work for 18 hours a week biking the kids to school and what not, and the rest of the time am free to adventure Holland and Europe!
I will be living 25 minutes away from this,
Utrecht

and 45 minutes away from this:
Amsterdam

I intend on learning a ton of Dutch in my year long language courses, to eat a lot of cheese, to become a bike riding expert, and write and recieve millions of letters.
Thank you so much to those of you have already expressed your excitement for me.
I'll be so excited to tell my kids that I was born in South Africa, and have lived in Alberta, Quebec, British Columbia, and Holland. Hopefully the list can keep expanding along with my postcard wall.

Thanks for reading!

Read me like a book.

Today I spent the day with my lovely sister Carlin.
We headed to Southgate mall, ran an errand for my mother, and then I headed over to the store that houses my other addiction, Matt and Nat wallets, bags etc.
I caved people, well rather, I planned on getting another wallet although there is nothing wrong with the one I currently have! *Gasp*
I'm sorry, there is something magical in the vegan leather of it all, something magical in the shape of an envelope that makes me want to shove my pitiful money inside, something about smooth inside lining made from recycled soda bottles.
So here it is, the newest baby to add to my collection.
The baby

Interior

The collection

Oh Matt and Nat, WHY do you do this to me? I suppose it's alright because some people splurge on shoes, some on Jewelry, I... on wallets. Okay, and sometimes earrings. (But today I resisted the temptation!)
Anyhow, the sister and I continued to a nearby mall where I got my grown up Library card.
The library where I live, since as long as I can remember, has had two different library cards. One for youth, and one for adults. The youth was a vibrant yellow, signed by your parent, and free. The adult, a deep mature looking red purchased with a whopping $12 dollars. HOWEVER the library recently went through an epic change and now advertises itself in bright colours and humour and I went to go get my grown up card just as these changes had taken place!
My lovely mother took me to get my first library card when I was 3, (we need to blame someone for my genius) and now being 18, there are some minor changes. Like the complete freedom to choose from a wide array of colours and messages on the card! Look at the comparison!

I love the comparison, and I love how it's purple and clever!! I could have chosen "I'm an information Ninja" or, "Chicks dig big brains", or "I'm happy and I know it," this one of a few others. I needed to guarantee the colour however, so I settled with this one.
I've already used it and will use it to order my books for free to my local library! Go reading! Whoot.
After me and my sister headed over to get some food and she was holding majority of our purchases of the day.
Carlin: Since when am I your pack mule?
Kyra: Since I buy you food.
Carlin: Silence.

A bit of Cheese.

There was a summer....
where I worked at a small Italian grocery store. This grocery store gave their employees one free pre-made sandwich and drink each day as compensation along with pay. However all the premade sandwiches had meat on them and I'm a vegetarian so I rather got a white torbedo bun, and some feta, goat/cow/sheep and sometimes some Olives.
This is where my addiction began.
The other day I went past Southgate and picked this up at the Italian Centre for $10, recreating the two months where I was 14 years of age. No matter how corrupt that business was, they will ALWAYS have the best feta and olives in this town, I'm telling you now.

I highly recommend it.

Sunday, March 27, 2011

Busy

Heeey,
Sorry I haven't been posting lately.
I'm working back at the grocery store.
It's like I never left hahaha. But I like it well enough and I already know how to do the job.
I missed mt friends at Planet so it' nice to be back and working with all of them.
Today I went to Singles and it was funny because me and Brant and Matt and Kyle were telling really punny jokes.
What's the most unracist animal ever?
A Panda.
Why was the lobster mad at the shrimp?
Because it was Shell-Fish.
Why were the eggs afraid of the baker?
Because he beat them.
It was a good time.
This weekend I also chilled with Lisa and watched parnormal activity 2. The first one is scarier.
OH and I got to talk to Katey and Ryan and Jared tonight. Jared and Ryan are hanging out together which is super cool. I think they're the first group members to reconnect.
Anyhow, work tomorrow, time to make some intense moola.
AND EXCITING ANNOUNCEMENT in the very near future, (next few days)
It's about my next adventure, stay tuned!

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Planet time!

So it's true folks, I've joined the ranks of Planet Organic once again.
I keep having random flashbacks of my plu and produce codes, I got to work all day long with Jared AND they don't have scanny cards but thumb reading signing in and out technology now!!
It's pretty crazy.
I also met a really cool guy at work who just so happens to be my new locker partner, and since he lives in the same part of town as I do he drove me home! Score!
But now I'm incredibly tired and I forgot how long and boring the shifts at Planet are.
However that red apron is a familiar comfort, and I got a small till, so I wasn't frustrated with a big till.
But anyhow, money is money and its just time to save up for my next adventure. It just feels like I should be doing more than just working. The only time I just work used to be summer break from school... but this time..
it's just real life...

Monday, March 21, 2011

Speed dating, dancing and a little bit of Church!

FRIDAY NIGHT was... memorable.
Cally picked me up with Amber late, and then on the way to the Church for speed dating detoured to a gas station. Yes, we were out of gas, however I'm pretty sure she planned that so we could spend as much time away from the speed dating as possible.
"Guys, I really, really don't want to do this..." was a very common phrase for her on the drive over.
We cruised into the church parking lot and into the gym where they had a huge rectangle of tables with chairs on either side, boys on one, girls on the other.
When me Cally and Amber sat down, there were two, too few guys so for a while, the guys speed dated all three of us. Aha, most of them were quite fine with the idea. However eventually more guys showed up and we had to seperate. And lucky for us the guys who showed up had a lot of... personality. Aha.
My favourite speed date went a little like this...
Guy: What ward you in?
Kyra: M--------.
Guy: Really me too I haven't seen you.
Kyra: Oh I've been gone, this Sunday is my first Sunday in YSA.
Guy: Potluck this Sunday you know!
Kyra: Oh cool, I'll be there, I like food.
Guy: Yeah, maybe we can sit together and be like hey you, friend that I've known for a whole two days!
Kyra: Yeah... maybe.
Guy: Maybe we can hold hands.
Kyra: ....Uhh.. we'll see what happens....
Guy: Yeah, maybe people will think that's weird us knowing eachother for only two days and then holding hands.
Kyra: Probably
So then thankfully, the timer went off and they had to move over, but a guy showed up and took the spot the guy I just had a hand holding offer from was supposed to move to, so he was stuck and so we got to have TWO SPEED DATES! yaaaayyy...
After speed dating there was barely anyone at the dance so me, Cally, Courtney, Amber and Courtney's cousin all went to Wendy's for food. Courtney was just as clever as she was when we met at age 5 and she connected two straws and reached across the table to steal some of my drink. Cally also dared me to eat this jalopeno salad dressing and I did, it was mighty fine on my baked potato lol.
When we returned to the dance a creepy guy came up to Cally and informed her that "if they ever tried to make a doll of [her] [she] should say no because they wouldn't be able to recreate [her] beauty."
Later he came up to her from behind grabbing her shoulders and asked...
"Do you find me handsome?"
Cally: Uhh... yes....?
Boy: What do you find handsome about me?
Cally: uhhh
Boy: Is it my eyes?
Cally: You're putting me on the spot...
Boy: Sorry I'm a curious george... and stumbled away into the hoards of dancing young adults.
During slow songs we would beeline for the refreshments table which consisted of brocolli, peppermint patties, candy frogs, and a frothy expeired lime tasting beverage.
The dance ended, I danced with no-one, anddddd I was scarred for life. Aha.
SUNDAY was today, and my first Sunday in the singles ward. Cally's older brother picked me up along with two of his friends. I climbed in exlaiming how it was clearly a party van and they full heartidly agreed.
Church was in a conference room which I was not expecting at all, and it was so quiet compared to home ward you were scared to clear your throat because everyone would hear it. The second hour I just stayed where I was sitting and it was a very sad class as the young teacher tried his best at teaching, but no-one answered a single question. Felt bad for the guy. Relief Society a girl I met a few years ago came and sat with me and there's a St.Patricks Relief Society supper this Wednesday night so that should be interesting too. After church I went and stood by Cally's brother who was handing out parking passes and met a young man named Chris. He told me he'd forget my name, everyone tells me that when they meet me. However while introducing myself, the guy behind me turned around and began bubbling over with excitement as he as the young man who requested we hold hands at potluck! So this guy Chris is trying to talk to me, and this other guy is talking about holding hands and eating food, and the other is talking about forgetting my name and asking me my age, and the other one is reminding me how we speed dated, (TWICE), and my head is turning back and forth and so I was grateful when Cally's bro suggested we head down to the potluck. They made us breakfast for supper and I sat as far away as possible from hand holder, although he did request we sit in the same row in church next Sunday and bare our testimonies together....
After I got a ride home with a newly returned missionary and that was kinda nerve wracking because I don't really know this guy and he's 21 and I'm 18 but we had a nice chat.
Verdict on Singles Ward is: There are extremely creepy guys, there are extremely attractive guys, it is extremely quiet and they have food, therefore, I'm in! Aha. I should get a calling soon! I wonder what it will be!
Next on the agenda, recruiting for Katimavik in person, hanging with Spencer, figuring out the job sitch, and Relief Society party!
Thanks for reading!

Job interviews, cupcakes, and fruit sorbet!

FRIDAY consisted of many eventful things as well. At 12:30 I headed over to Crave cupcakes for my interview. I personally feel it went very well. At the end of the interview the woman asked me, have you ever tried a crave cupcake before? And I was all, "No, haven't had the chance" so she disapears and brings me two full sized complimentary cupcakes! I said thank you very, very much! I don't think they give free cupcakes to just anybody! ;)
So I headed home, the cupcakes in my purse and I even got home on the same transfer, so I only have to use one bus ticket round trip, and for Whyte ave and back, that's pretty admirable! I went home, whipped open my cupcakes and devoured them as quickly as humanly possible. Perhaps a bit slower than that because I did have the paticence to take a photograph. Yes, they are a bit squished from the bus ride home, however no-one can deny the brillance that is obvious through this photograph.

Nom nom nom!

The cupcake place promised to call me the next day. And they didn't, and then didn't call me today either, and they're closed tomorrow. So I guess they DO give free cupcakes to just anyone...
Afterwards I decided to accompany my father to Costco to pick up the things for our family gathering this April.
I also decided why not get my passport photos taken at the same time to prepare for my next adventure and to save a trip to costco.
The only problem is that I recently got my bangs cut, and therefore they are exactly the perfect epic length I like them; apparently two milli-inches too long for a passport picture. The romanian sounding photographer told me to go to the washroom to wet my bangs and I knew right here right now, this was gonna get ugly. Literally.
(*Flashback to first round of passport photos. What passport photos? Exactly, they were thrown away due to their surprisingly disturbing nature.)
So I return and its a new photographer she seems satisfied with my bangs, but tells me to take out my amazing flowery vintage earrings! "They need to see your ears," she informs me. Oh really? Is that so, I hear about that all the time when you're lining up for boarding, "I'm sorry sir, but these ears do not match your passport photo." So I take them out sadly and just then she changes her mind and she tells me my bangs are still too rediculous and in my face to take a photo of so I fiddle with them somemore to the point where it's clear my photo could not be taken that day because of them, and then she takes a minature clip off her head and offers it to me, "Here, I don't have bugs." I take it and jam it into my hair, overly ready to just get this thing over with and FLASH, like the hope of an attractive photograph, the moment was gone.
I return to my father complaining and he reassured me that everyones passport photos are unattractive, but I just wanted this round of photos to be somewhat attractive so that I wouldn't have to throw them away like the last ones!
So we continued on our shopping list and could not find crackers for the life of us, but eventually we did, as well as about $50 dollars of the best cheese this world has to offer and ventured our way back to the photo lab so that I could see the hideous results.
So alright, it's not the worst photo ever, but if you said that the wet, clipped to the side of my head bangs, the random minature bangs that didn't make it into the clip that loitered on the left side of my head, the glare on my face and the void on my ears where gorgeous earrings should have been was attractive, I'd probably have to slap you for being delusional. I'm going to use them, just because I don't have the heart to be let down a third time when my picture somehow turns out worse than the one before it.
However, shopping at Costco and able to lift my spirits was the discovery of the coolest Sorbet ever!!
I found a box that was 12 dollars for 10 sorbets and it's advertising was all, "Sorbet that comes in the actual fruit shell!" and I'm all like, "No way, that's probably such a lie, but I do like cheap sorbets.." So I bought and it and decided to do a test of false advertising.
This is what the box suggested was inside...

And this is what was actually really and truly inside!

That's right folks, they were telling the truth the whole time. There truly is Pina Colada sorbet in a half of a coconut, and pineapple sorbet in half of a pineapple!
They are actually really good, I recommend it!
As well as this, I recieved all my Katima photos!
I order them from http://kwikpix.ca/ and it's actually really convienent because you upload them from your computer and get them sent straight to your house, minimal effort required. Last time it took a million years to get them and this time I got my 500+ photo order in about 3 days!
Whoot whoot! So that only took 4 hours of my life putting them into albums last night but totally worth it.

AAAAAND, I finally got my numbers for the Katimavik Yield Team so I was able to call future participants and tell them about my experience on the phone. It was seriously so enjoyable I love doing it.
And then, at about 7, I got ready for...
YSA SPEED DATING...


Cupcakes and Babies!

Hey Everyone!
Thursday was an eventful day!
I was chillin' at home when I decided to text Cally!
We then had a fun afternoon together.
We decided to make our traditional trip to DQ for our usual blizzards.
After we read eachother the New Era, which this month btw, has an article on journaling.
Now, I'm not like a 'professional' journaler or anything, but I have written 6 journals since I was twelve, and I think I could write a better article. HOWEVER, there were entertaining questions in that jounaling article which were supposed to help you come up with topics to write about. Our answers were quite entertaining. One question even suggested listing why you love your best friend, Cally thought I was making it up, but it was really there!
While continuing our reading of this months New Era, we stumbled across this photograph.

We decided to model our afternoon after this photograph and practice being the ultimate home makers, so we baked cupcakes!

I may be biased, but I feel there is a strong resembalence between us and the photo!
As well as making cupcakes we found a random dirty plastic baby in Cally's house. So we continued our venture in womanhood and the ultimate homemaker and gave it a bath, and 'steaming it' so that it could once again be clean and happy!

After the babies adventure in Cally's bathroom sink, we swaddled it and it joined us on our cupcake making mission by laying on a stool.

Then, the phone rang and it was a near by family from our ward who wanted Cally to babysit. She had to go hometeaching and so she volunteered my services instead. She agreed to join me afterwards, and needless to say, we were THE BEST babysitters that ever there was! This is clearly visible in this photograph, taken by one of the 4 year old twins we were babysitting.

Babysitting was eventful however. We read the 4 year old twin girls a bedtime story, the well-known snow white and then tucked them into bed. We went to the living room and the one little girl was yelling Cally's name and we thought it was because she was being difficult and didn't want to sleep (they love Cally) but turns out she was crying because the evil step mother in snow white scared her! Poor thing aha, (she scared me when I was little too) and so Cally and I came up with an intricate story of how our cellphone lights would protect them, but regardless of this we ended up having to sit in the girls room until they fell asleep.
When the babysitting night was over we got our hard earned $25 bucks and jetted it back to DQ for our second time that day! (Don't hate!) Then we went to Cally's house again and watched the movie singles ward for a taste of what I was soon going to experience..

Sunday, March 20, 2011

A medley of all sorts of things!

Due to popular belief, I have not forgotten that I have a blog!! Aha! Look forward to these exciting updates tomorrow!
Baking Cupcakes
Steaming Babies
Baby Sitting
Job Interviews
Free Cupcakes
Fruit Cup Sorbets
Katimavik Recruiting Telephone Style
Passport Photos
Speed Dating
Singles Dances
Wendy's
500 photos/4 hours
AND my first Sunday in the Singles Ward!
And you wonder why I haven't been blogging?
I've been busy silly!
Post tomorrow!

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Got me a fly new do!

Heeey!
So today I got to sleep in and then I walked to my hairdressers and got my hair done all nice!!

But right before I left for my appointment, I got a call for an interview at a brand new cupcake place!! Interview is on Friday!
Afterwards I walked to the mall and went to Emily's 20th bday party!! Yay! It was so nice seeing some old friends. Hope it was a good one Emily!
Afterwards I was craving some pizza so I headed to little ceasars on the way home.
All I got was Italian Cheese Bread and it came in a BOX. So when my order was ready, the guy at the till was like, "do you want a bag?"
So I think about this for a second, and realistically no.. why would I want a bag for a box, because if I carried it by the bag handle, the food would be everywhere and get mangled in the box... and secondly, why waste a bag that may one day end up in an ocean, street or landfill and never decompose!?
So I said, "No it's okay."
and so he said "No?" in surprise...
and then CONTINUED TO PUT IT IN A BAG ANYWAYS.
That is like really annoying because one he didn't listen to me, and two that's such a waste, bad for the environment.
But anyway I headed home and got to skype with, Sara, Sarah, Jared, Kate, Evelyne, Ryan and Brandon! The only ones from the Katimavik Group who werent there was Zoe and Ma and Issac. And none of us have actually heard from Isaac for the last two weeks since the program...
But anyhow, tomorrow talk with Planet Organic, and Friday dance, speed dating and cupcake interview... woooh! Crazyness!
Now time to watch Monsters Inc with the sister. Origionally it was playing in french and she just wasn't having it lol.

Monday, March 14, 2011

The wiggles.

So today I accompanied my rents to an appointment. Only being a use for certain parts of the trip I was left to wait in the waiting room. Here I had the pleasure of watching teletoon on mute. There was a show on called the wiggles or something, and it was CREEPY. 4 men in their mid 30s were dancing and jumping around like lunatics to the point where I was disturbed! Occasionally they'd throw in an Octopus, or something strange and of that nature. Seriously, wouldn't let my kids ever watch that!!
Later after supper, me and Cally went to DQ on a girls night out date, ahaha, we sat and ate blizzards and chatted. While selecting a seat we sat in a booth obviously meant for like 6 people, but it was fine for us two aha. We also happened to sit right beside a birthday party. The little boy got a skate board of some sort and was uber excited. The main attraction of the birthday party however was when one of the kids had a loose tooth so the one little girl helped him out by attempting to remove it from his mouth with a DQ napkin. We left right before the climax. Ahaha!
The rest of the night consisted of chillin, like a villian.
I called the Katimavik recruitment lady, and she's sending me supplies, and I'm going to be part of the Yield Team!! So excited to call future Katimavik participants and tell them about my experience!
Oh, and I might go back to working at Planet.. hm.
All for now!

Sunday, March 13, 2011

So somewhere in my youth or childhood..

No I did not attempt to sing my mom the "The sun has gone to bed and so must I..." ending of the sound of music which stretched into an entire sound of music, beatles, paul mccartney, and a little bit of queen medley done by my mother, father and I..
Kyra: (For the 2nd time after long medley) "The sun... has gone..." hah hah. Tomorrow, the soundtrack to Annie!
Mom: You know that?
Kyra: The sun will come out...
Mom: Not now!
Kyra: Tomorrow....
Hahaha goodnight everyone!!

Happy Birthday!

hey hey hey,
Today cally picked me up so I could go to church to give my talk. Right as we were turning into the church parking lot, I looked down to see I no longer had any idea were the paper with my talk was. We had a mini panic and almost went home to turn around, but I found it inbetween the door and me seat ahaha. I think it went well, I may have talked a bit quickly though. A lot of people came up to me to welcome me back and whatever which was nice. I also got my records changed over to the YSA single adults ward so I'm going to start going to that next week. (:
today is my sister carlin's 21st birthday!
I spent the afternoon wrapping my sisters multitude of gifts from my parents and I.

I got her a hello kitty key topper and hello kitty change purse from Quebec and my parents got her earrings, a book, and a giftcard. One of her friends is also in culinary school so he baked her a cake and decorated it and everything, pretty cool excited to eat that. ;)
I also got a ballin' zebra calendar for my wall the other day. I wanna be nice and organized if that lady ever calls me to give me shifts.

I also updated my wall. I want it to be a travelling postcard wall, so I have postcards up from ottawa, vander, quebec. montreal, drumheller, and costa rica (tristan).

I am SO excited to get my hair done again ahaha, my hair has not seen a hairdresser in 6.5 months which is rediculous. Wed is also Emily's bday, and Friday if all goes well is speed dating (LOL) and a singles dance. It's St.Patricks themed and I have nothing green so we'll see how that goes. :S
Thanks for reading!

Saturday, March 12, 2011

& her life began and ended with boring.

Carlin - "It will mess up your organisms, and you won't have babies. I don't think I should have any because they'd be stupid." AHAHAHA!
Oh my goodness, this is the humour and comedy I get to hear on a regular basis from sharing a room with my lovely sister.
Today, my biggest accomplishment was grocery shopping. My life gives boring a new name!!
However I did look further into my education, rent in Quebec etc. You know, living in Quebec is cheaper than Edmonton in my opinion. It's like nearly impossible to get a nice fully furnished room all utilities included for under $500 in Edmonton and in Montreal I found over 10 pages of beautiful fully furnished rooms all utilities including internet for well under $400.
Have any of you ever noticed that when you have something you really want to happen, and then you tell people about it, that it doesn't happen or work out?
My life is like that all the time. If I tell people about a contest I entered, I never win, if I tell people I want to travel somewhere I never do, if I apply for something and tell someone about it, I won't get in. It's so weird, it's like I have to do stuff in secret and keep it to myself for it to work.
Has anyone ever noticed that themselves?
Tomorrow I get to pleasure the ears of my entire church congregation as I tell them about my time away. Let's hope I don't cry or something when I retell my experiences. I really miss my Katima group.
Kate got her letter and sent hers back already apparently! yay yay yay.
Tonight me and my mother had an enlightning conversation as well.
We know this one individual and my mom thinks she'll get married before I do, and I doubt that, strongly. So we have a little bet. If I get married before this individual, I get a doughnut.
Kyra: "And what happens if I don't get married before her?"
Mom: "Then you don't get a doughnut."
Let it be noted.
Oh and it's daylight savings, do something with your clocks people! Don't forget! And don't ask me if it's an hour back or forward, I have noooo idea.

Friday, March 11, 2011

I have a job! I think..

So today I applied to Sorrentino's Italian Cafe as a server/barista. She never said you're hired, but after a slightly intimidating speed interview I've come to the conclusion that I'm hired because she finished with 'expect my call so we can set up training hours for next week.'
I'm excited, I am, it looks like a cool place,and it seems to have the same atmosphere as Star Cafe in Ste-Foy, however if someone like David's Tea were to call me now I'd be dissapointed because I really want David's Tea. But anyways, I'm sure whatever happens I'll enjoy myself. This place seems like I'd have a leadership role, always 40 hours a week, and work in the kitchen, as a server, and as a barista, so thats a lot of experience. She was just talking about like long term, like all summer and long term jobs just freak me out.
I'll probably stay living at home because it's close... and I really want to start taking French courses so the sooner I have money in this pocket the better.
At least I'll get paid more than $3.00 a day right? And by the looks of things I'm working with a couple Italian Stalions if you know what I mean... ;) ahaha.

Katima Love

So what for us is left behind, what with our lives can we make?
is it easy now for happiness to find, or simpler for a smile to fake?

we’ve been torn apart, like pieces of a puzzle whose pieces are lost,
to put us together is a work of art, and with it drags a hefty cost.

we’re a girl with the red curly hair, who washes many the dishes,
always desiring for all to be fair, and honouring others wishes.

we’re a boy with style, knows how to get down and dance,
carries a permanent smile, chillin’ with a gangster stance.

we’re a girl with italian flare, a heart, maybe even two,
with short brown hair, to phase this girl would be something new.

we’re a boy who knows to run a farm, adventure is his name,
he has that French charm, and is talented with the board game.

we’re a girl who for animals cares, the environment is real,
never leather she wears, and will only eat a vegetarian meal.

we’re a boy who loves to fly, the one who makes the jokes,
always a friendly kinda guy, entertains all sorts of folks.

we’re a girl from a small town, learning english was key,
never is she seen with a frown, always fun is she.

we’re a boy who plays guitar, all times of the night,
soon to be a star, always ready to win a fight.

we’re a girl who loves peace, loves everyone,
happiness she’ll release, and a ton of fun.

we’re a boy who loves to climb things, and has various skills,
with ukulele he sings, always seeking a new thrill.

we’re a girl who loves to write, talks a lot too,
lacks a bit when it comes to height, and she wrote this poem for you.

Love you 51157. <3

Thursday, March 10, 2011

My Little Speech for Church!

For those who don’t know me, my name is Kyra and I’ve been away for the past 6 months volunteering with a government sponsored program called Katimavik.
Katimavik’s main objective is to help youth like myself, volunteer across Canada for not for profit organizations.
I first volunteered in Vanderhoof, British Columbia, a small town an hour and a half east of Prince George. Vanderhoof was very interesting as it has the most churches per capita of any town in Canada having 18 churches for 4,500 people. Also nearby was the Sai’kuz aboriginal reserve. With this dynamic I was able to see the un-cooperation of any of the churches to work together and on-going and visible racism in the town. I worked closely with the soon to be aboriginal chief of the Sai’kuz nation on a diversity project where we would go into schools and workplaces in the community and share a message about anti-racism and anti-bullying and to promote the acceptance of diversity and a feeling of community unity. I felt very close to the spirit as I went into these schools because regardless of which program or religion we were affiliated, the message stayed the same. Through service, co-operation, loving thy neighbour, and acceptance of those around you, happiness, and a positive environment can be created.
After a three month duration spent in the small town of Vanderhoof we took 2 buses and 3 planes amounting to 20 hours of travel to Quebec City, Quebec. Here I was bombarded with the French language of which I knew very little, new surroundings and was once again faced with a new beginning. Here I had the privilege of working in a homeless shelter in downtown old Quebec. At times it was very difficult for me because I found it hard to communicate with older, sometimes intimidating men who spoke a different language than I, but some experiences have the same affect regardless of language spoken. The homeless shelter I volunteered at ran a 2nd hand store of clothing out of an old warehouse with limited lighting and almost no heating. Here the homeless or economically challenged could come into the store and take whatever clothing or supplies they needed free of charge. The one man made a few selections and came up to the front desk. After announcing his selections he attempted to pay us. I did my best with French and told the man it was free, and regardless of this he left us $20 dollars to donate to the homeless shelter for the help we had provided.
Another afternoon stands out in my mind. As I was walking into the lunch room to get something to eat, an older man stood at the pay phone and waved me over, asking me for help in English. This came as a surprise to me because Quebec City is quite French and it was quite a rarity for someone to speak in English first, if at all. I went to the man and he told me that he was partially blind and needed to make a phone call but couldn’t find the right change. He held out his shaking hand to reveal a few American and Canadian coins. I put them in the pay phone for him as well as dialed the number .
“Thank you,” he said, and then he corrected himself, “Merci.”
“No it’s alright,” I told him, “I’m English as well.”
As I walked away it struck me, how lucky I was to be walking by this man right as I did. There weren’t many people in the homeless shelter who knew English, and it might have been a while before the man could have found someone to help him. But I knew it wasn’t lucky, but rather good timing from the Lord. I felt very fortunate that small everyday circumstances were provided to me that I could help strangers on a daily basis.
Waking up each day in Katimavik, I was never quite sure what to expect, except that I’d most likely help someone that day, and to wake up with that sort of mentality made me extremely grateful. It also taught me however, that you don’t need to be in a government sponsored program living away from home to do acts of service and to help those around you. The lord provides opportunities to each one of us on a daily basis to help others and it’s our responsibility to take those opportunities.
Although I was unable to attend church during these six months, my testimony was strengthened constantly by the people I met and the situations I was faced with. I have a testimony that if we listen to the spirit the lord will guide us to people in need, and that there truly is no way to feel better about yourself, appreciate your own situation and recognize your blessings more, than when submersed in righteous service.

So far so good!

I'm so happy!
Sarah got her Katima letter from me in the mail. I mailed the letters on Monday, and it's Thursday so it took exactly the right amount of time to get to Sarah, but now the rest have to find their way across Canada! I'm so excited to hear back from everyone once they get their letters.
Sarah: 'I just received your letter, and I don't know if you got my text but OMG :( I miss you so much, This letter is so amazing. I don't even know what to do with myself. I don't know if I can write such a letter back that would live up to your letter, but I'm sure gonna try! I miss you infinite amounts, my fellow veggie Albertan!'
I also tried to print my one million Katima photos to fill my albums, however the website was kind, and also not kind because I figured out how many photos I could print for my budget, and so I choose that amount having to delete a bunch from the ones I chose, to find that they're on sale and discounted so I could have kept some in there!! How annoying! Anyhow, at the end of the day I'm getting 470 prints, and a 8x10 poster collage of my Katima Experience so I'll be satisfied.
Things are finally getting into order, hair cut booked, wrote my talk for church which I will post, changed my number, and ordering my pictures tomorrow.
I JUST NEED A JOB!!!
Oh deary me.

Dino, Pizza & Afros

So yesterday I hung out with my lovely Carson! We haven't actually hung out for an entire year, because before highschool ended and in the summer before I left we didn't hang out either! So it was really good to see eachother. She moved houses and got a dog and a new cat so that was interesting! We ate pizza for supper and watched the ancient show dinosaurs because it's a very entertaining show where the dinos wear shirts but not pants because they have tails. Look it up or something.
Since there were no ingredients in the house with which to bake with we decided to get creative and put nutella onto plain lays chips. It was actually surpisingly tastey however obviously bad for the figure.
So we stayed up nice and late watching dinos and talking and this morning we woke up and ordered more pizza LOL, watched MORE dinos and then I waited for the bus. We stood on the wrong side of the street, and so therefore missed the bus an had to wait outside for half an hour in the cold, booo.. :(
Then I was on the bus from 2:30 until 4:10 that's how far away we live from eachother, and that's how big Edmonton is. I had to bus to abottsfield, but I live on the OPPOSITE end like the direct end of the city from abottsfield so yeah makes for a long bus ride.
I have come to the conclusion that Abottsfield area is sketch, just like the mini ghetto I live in, and while I was on the bus we passed more shut down businesses than ones still open and in business. However I passed one hair cutting place called "Momma Afro Unisex Hairdressers." This seems like a promising place for a new do..
However when I got home my mother had fabric she bought me with little colourful owls on it to make a new book bag for myself, and I had mail from Tristan in NS!
She went and volunteered in Costa Rica so I got to hear her amazing stories about learning Spanish, volunteering in orphanages and saving turtles. <3
Then I get my number changed over from a Quebec number to a local number and had to text everyone in my phone so I had like 500 text convos going for a while there.
I also checked my email and a while ago I emailed Katimavik to recruit for them and I'm in for at least one event.
If you're interested in Katimavik and live in Edmonton on March the 22nd there is a recruiting session at the U of A at 4:00-6:00.
I suddenly feel really busy because I'm going out to breakfast with Dallas next week, going to Emily's Birthday party, Going to a single adults dance, giving a talk/speech thing at church this sunday and getting my hair done! Lots to do!!
I still am trying to get together a plan for my future and right now it's...
Job --> Move out --> Grant Mac for French --> Montreal --> Concordia Uni for Creative Writing.
For some reason I think it will take a long time to complete aha. Wish school wasn't so expensive. :(
I miss Quebec. :(
But yeah, I'm going to do something productive like watch tv or something. ahaha. Jk.
Thanks for reading lovelies!
p.s. No-one wants to hire my awesomeness so far... Whatever will I do!!?!?!

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Thanks Mom.

Kyra: Baby where'd you get your body from. I got it from my momma, I got it got it got it from my momma!
Momma Cathe: No you didn't...
Kyra: Oh burn.

Uhmm.. an Unicorn?

So today was dedicated to the JOB HUNT. Duh duh duh.
I went to Edmontons famous Whyte Ave to get myself a job.
I applied to 3 fancy cupcake places, and then headed over to Divine. My mission impossible.
So I walked in, and the girl is like hey! and I'm like hey! She could see my cool bright blue vintagey looking dress and she asked me to show her asap and I did, and she totally dug it lol.
Girl: So what are you up to today?
Kyra: Well just got back from Quebec, and need a job!
Girl: Cool, what you up to in Quebec?
Kyra: Katimavik
Girl: Ooh yeah I know about that!
Kyra: Taking resumes?
Girl: Yeah yeah! -Taking my Resume- If you could assign Divine an animal as a mascot what would it be..?
(Kyra thinks up of the most clever/cool/vintage/awesome animal possible...)
Kyra: A unicorn, duh.
Girl: -Laughs- ahaha great!
So I think that went fairly well ahahah! I tried to apply to two cafes and got pretty snotty replies when I didn't have my liqour licence. Guess I need to get on that so that people can drink wine with their pancakes as both these cafes cater to the morning crowd, but whatever.
Then I headed over to southgate to run some errands for my mother. When I got on the 52 my bus transfer said 18:00hrs, and I suck at that conversion garbage so I decided to text the ever knowledgable Sara from my Katimavik group.
Kyra: What's 18 hundred hours?
Sara: I don't know.
Kyra: I thought you were good at those things.
Sara: Like how many days?
Kyra: No like 18 what hour is it?
Sara: 75 days.
Sara: Oh hahahaha! 6 PM
Kyra: Lol Lol! I'm laughing outloud in public transit! Thank you!
Sara: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Np :) <3
Kyra: Lol oh my goodness I love you.
At Southgate I applied to GrooveStone an AMAZING jewelry store owned by my highschool drama teacher and they're looking for PT, I really want to work there but I need lots of hours.
Then I went to David's Tea and talked to the girl there forever and she said they're hiring FT soon and we got along really well and chatted for a while so I'm really hoping they give me a call.
Tonight I have an interview with my stake president and then tomorrow I get to hang with my lovely Carson who I have not seen in ages, I'm suppppper excited!! <3
Thanks for reading!
xoxoxox,

"The benefits of being a light sleeper"

So last night while I was sleeping apparently I said:
"Goblins," then started talking in french, then "make sure to keep them in shape" then I pointed at my sister, giggled and turned over.
Hahaha! I'm sleep talking in French! Totally fine by me! That's rad!

Lucky Duck!

So I just went onto Divines website, to you know, envy the job opportunity that I most likely would never be able to snag... when I looked at the photos that cycle on the home page and RECOGNIZED the model!! That is my friend Alden who used to be a fellow cashier at Planet Organic with me! I remember he told me about some modeling thing but I didn't realize it was to be like head model of Divine or something crazy and cool! Ugggh small world. Congrats Alden who will never read this, but that's really cool!

It's great to stay up late!

So currently it's 10 to 4 in the morning, and I just cannot sleep.
New episodes of life as liz came out while I was learning french, eating fruit loops and bonding with a family of the Katima variety.
I watched those, my Glee season is done and now I have absolutely nothing left in my life.
Okay, so over exaggeration.
I keep day dreaming about where I could work next, or maybe where I'll live if I move out and it's all quite exciting. I think I'm a good worker now, I think that I'm not lazy anymore, and that I will be motivated, simply by the knowledge that I'll be paid for my labour, somewhat of a luxury actually.
Tomorrow I'm going to make the most likely failed attempt at applying at Divine and Divine Decadence stores on Whyte Avenue.
This my friends seems like an impossible feat because to be an employee at Divine you have to be:
- Gorgeous
- In your early twenties
- Be Awesome
- Be Extremely loud and in everyones face.
- Have a multitude of piercings or cool hair.
After working at Esprit when I was 15, I vowed I was done in my journey through being a sales associate in a clothings store, especially in one who awarded me a 35% discount but the clothes were all so grandmotherly that I bought 2 things in 4 months, as well as aided my social studies teacher at the time to find a changing room... Divine would be the one place that I'm willing to deal with clothing at.
So although impossible, I shall make the attempt.
I will wear this vantage dress I never wore but got from the beloved Urban Outfitters, fake glasses, vintagey flower earrings and possibly a worn out pair of converse and maybe, just maybe, will I be able to create the illusion of being cool.
Will they see through it? I don't know, but both their locations are hiring.. so there is about 1/10th of a piece of Lemon Cream Pie that I have a chance!
Wooooh!
So me and the sister unit ate Kraft Dinner, and this was a nice treat, but not really because I can feel that fake pasta goodness sticking to my body like glue already!
Ever since finishing Katimavik I have actually created the desire to be kinda sorta healthy. I don't know what's wrong with me, but it will probably make for a longer life span and a greater self image.
I got to talk to Ryan, Jared and Kate today, and it's really nice to Skype with them. When you're in Katimavik you skype people back home and now we have to skype eachother and it just doesn't feel right.
Kate was baking cookies which sounded amazing and I wish I could be there to eat them.
But anyways, it's four in the morning and I was intending on waking at 10 am which we all know will not happen now.
Wish me luck in the looking cool job hunting business, it's a tough world out there.
It looks like a jungle, smells like a mac donalds and has nothing but adventure and copious amounts of snow to offer.
xoxox,

Monday, March 7, 2011

Plus Glee Aha

So today has consisted of making some important emails, applying for some jobs, and talking to family.
My sister called today so I was able to talk to her a bit, so that was really nice.
I also applied for a job that's raising money for international organizations and not for profits on the street. I'll see if I hear anything back from them.
I'm also working on a powerpoint because soon I'm going to give presentations to my old French class.
I was looking into taking French classes at Grant Macewan and I think I'm going to do it. I want to just take French courses at the start because I really want to focus on learning the language. I like French, and really want to learn it. I did learn quite a bit in Katimavik and I went from a 0/5 to a 2/5. But I learn much better in a class/school format. So I've learnt some basics from being emersed in the language and now I want to really improve by being in a class setting, and then move towards being in a French environment again because I really want to do creative writing at Concordia or Flight Attendency.
Tomorrow is crazy job hunt day. I'm going to print more resumes than hairs on my head because in the past I've found my jobs by friends, and one online, and one by dropping off a resume, so... I have a feeling I'm going to have to work hard to find a job.
The sooner the better, because although it's an incredibly nice feeling to have time up to myself to do whatever I want, and slack and watch Glee, free time gives me a chance to miss my Katima-Fam, and it's a strange feeling going from having every moment except 12 hours a week planned for you to have complete full time, I feel as if I'm wasting my days, and it's a strange adjustment, I think I'd like to be busy and productive but will regret myself saying that later when I have a job and am so busy I can't think.
My old job is majorly hiring, however I dont know if I can handle working there again, but I may if finding a job gets too hard. :P
I miss my Katima fam a lot and I mailed their letters yesterday, but today really as that's when the mail gets picked up.
Time to work on my powerpoint, and I need to work on my talk/speech for my church on Sunday about my experiences in Katimavik.
Thanks for reading. (:

Sunday, March 6, 2011

J'ai Glee!

Hey there!
So yesterday I got to hangout with one of the besties, Cally, after not seeing her for six months.
She decided to re-enact our Thursday nights together.
Every Thursday we would go to Dairy Queen and get Blizzards, and then salt and vinegar chips from the 7-11. Then we would go to her house and watch Glee!
Since it was not a night that Glee was on, Cally bought me the entire first season so we could watch it together!!!
So cute. <3
We watched the whole first disc, well I watched the first disc because Cally fell asleep and I can't fall asleep if the tv is on so I stayed up until 4 am watching Glee, then we got up at 9am and went to Church.
After Church I met with the bishop and got transferred into singles ward and I'm sending him my resume and he may have a job for me!
After I hung out with Rachel and Hannah and we watched movies and ate, as per our usual tradition.
Tomorrow is going to be jam packed with trying to knock crazy things off my to do list.
I need to print and send resumes, make a French powerpoint, email my old french teacher, book appointments, change my phone, etc etc.
My oh my do I have a lot to do!
This week is going to be really busy with odds and ends.
Oh, and I love my dog.
Thanks for reading, hope my life gets more interesting soon!! Aha

Howdy

I have a lot to tell everyone but I need to go over to Rachel's house. Write tonight! (: